The Bridgerton Books in Order: Where to Buy (and What to Expect From) the Popular Julia Quinn Novels

Do you need to read the Bridgerton books in order to fully appreciate the hit Netflix series, now in its third season? That’s up to you. (But yes—the answer is yes.)

For the unfamiliar, Julia Quinn’s Bridgerton book series—which is set in London’s Regency era—is a wildly popular and mega-successful collection of novels that follow the eight affluent Bridgerton siblings in their search for love and marriage. So it wasn’t much of a surprise when Netflix unveiled the Shonda Rhimes–produced series based on the books and it became an instant smash, reaching 63 million households in just four weeks.

Season 1, like the first novel, centered on Daphne Bridgerton’s burgeoning romance with Simon, the Duke of Hastings. Season 2 picks up with Anthony Bridgerton, who is also the focus of the second novel, The Viscount Who Loved Me. However, season 3 was a departure from the book order: The show bumped up Colin Bridgerton and Penelope Featherington’s love story, which is the focus of the fourth novel, Romancing Mister Bridgerton. Season 4 hasn’t been announced yet, but Benedict or Eloise seem the most likely to be next in line.

Diehard fans know all this, but if you’re new to the Julia Quinn Bridgerton book universe, set aside some time now and catch up. Below, a deeper look into each Bridgerton novel, where to buy them, and what order to start reading.

In what order should I read the Bridgerton books?

If you want to follow the Bridgerton books chronologically, read them in this order: The Duke and I; The Viscount Who Loved Me; An Offer From a Gentleman; Romancing Mr. Bridgerton; To Sir Phillip, With Love; When He Was Wicked; It’s in His Kiss; and On the Way to the Wedding. Just know the books are not in sequence according to the eight Bridgerton siblings’ ages—rather, they follow the order in which everyone marries. (Well, kind of…Francesca’s story is a bit of an exception, but we’ll get to that.)

If you’re hooked, and you will be, there are a few sequels you can read next: The Bridgertons: Happily Ever After includes new chapters about each happy couple, as well as one focused on how Bridgerton parents Violet and Edmund met. Then there’s The Further Observations of Lady Whistledown, Lady Whistledown Strikes Back, and The Wit and Wisdom of Bridgerton—all set in the Bridgerton universe.

Someone who wants to get really technical about the timeline would actually start with the Bridgerton prequels, also known as the Rokesby Series. The Rokesbys are the neighbors and longtime family friends of the Bridgertons, and the books follow the romantic lives of the four sons: George, Edward, Andrew, and Nicholas. And there’s some connection to the OG Bridgerton series: Edmund, Violet, and even little Anthony, Benedict, and Colin make appearances. Edmund’s sisters, Billie and Georgiana, are also the love interests in two of the Rokesby books. That order goes: Because of Miss Bridgerton, The Girl With the Make-Believe Husband, The Other Miss Bridgerton, and First Comes Scandal. Fans of the Netflix series can also now read Queen Charlotte, which Quinn wrote based on the prequel season that aired in 2023.

But do you have to read the Bridgerton books in order?

No, you don’t have to. Each book centers on one sibling’s romance at a time, so they can be read interchangeably. You may get some minor spoilers, but do you care? With romance books like the Bridgerton titles, the appeal is in knowing that everyone ends up happily married.

Source link

About The Author

Scroll to Top